Dig Safe: It’s the Law! How It Works:

Even small, shallow excavation jobs can be a risk if you don’t know where underground lines are buried.

Go to DigSafe.com!

Remember to call 811 for every project!
STEP 1: "Pre-mark" where you plan to dig before making the call to 811.

STEP 2: Call 811 in advance

Our call center is open from Monday through Friday from 6:00am to 6:00pm.

State law requires you give at least 72 hours’ notice in Massachusetts - not including weekends and legal holidays.
We only accept emergency locate requests during off-hours. For non-emergency requests, please call during regular
office hours. You will be given a Dig Safe ticket number as proof of naotification.

STEP 3: Notify non-member facility owners

Non-member companies are not notified by Dig Safe. See our Laws at a Glance chart to find out what types of utilities
companies are required to be members of Dig Safe.

STEP 4: Wait the required time

After notifying Dig Safe, you must wait 48 hours in Vermont, or 72 hours in Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and
Rhode Island. (Excluding weekends and legal holidays.) During this time, utility representatives respond to mark their
lines within your pre-marked area. They use this uniform color code system, so the typ
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PROPOSED EXCAVATION

STEP 5: Respect the marks Remember that pipes, cables, and wires can be buried at any depth, so it can be risky to dig
in close proximity of a buried line. This is why the laws of our five New England states observe a Safety Zone (or
Tolerance Zone) requirement. The use of mechanized equipment is prohibited when digging within 18 inches of a buried
facility. In this Safety Zone (or Tolerance Zone),zgu must dig by hand,/c/arefully, to avoid damage.
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STEP 6: Maintain the marks! Make sure the utility marks stay intact during your project. If the marks are compromised
for any reason, call Dig Safe back at 811. In Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont, your
ticket expires if the excavation has not started before 30 days from the date of issue. Ticket Expiration: In
Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Vermont, Dig Safe tickets expire 30 days from the date of issue.
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THIS GUIDE IS A SUMMARY OF INFORMATION TAKEN FROM: www.DigSafe.com


http://www.digsafe.com/laws_rules.php

