Assembly of Delegates

Barnstable County

The Assembly of Delegates is the legislative branch of Barnstable County government and is authorized under the Barnstable County Charter to enact binding policies (ordinances). Fifteen Delegates serve in the Assembly, one elected on a nonpartisan basis every two years from each of the 15 Cape towns. A Speaker and Deputy Speaker serve as Assembly leadership. The Assembly uses a weighted voting system where each Delegate’s vote is weighted proportionally to the population of the municipality they represent (based on the most recent U.S. census). Brewster’s weighted vote is 4.51%. The Assembly Clerk administers the Assembly’s daily activities.


Mary ChaffeeDelegate2024