Conservation Commission and Conservation Department

Commission Mission and Responsibilities

The Conservation Commission promotes the protection and management of the town’s diverse natural resources. It is responsible for protecting the interests and functions of the town’s wetland and coastal resources, while respecting the rights and interests of Brewster’s property owners

The Commission is responsible for administering and enforcing both the state Wetlands Protection Act and the Brewster Wetlands Protection Bylaw which involves reviewing and permitting projects within and near wetlands. Commission members are appointed by the Select Board.

The Conservation Commission generally meets the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 6:00pm. The meeting schedule is available for download.


The Conservation Department, under the direction of the Conservation Administrator, carries out the daily activities of the Conservation Commission. 

Board/Committee Members

NamePositionTerm End
Michael TobinChair6/30/2024
Casey Chatelain Vice Chair6/30/2026
Bruce EvansMember6/30/2026
Gary KaserMember6/30/2026
Kimberley Crocker PearsonMember6/30/2025

Ronald Slowek

Steve McKennaMember6/30/2025