Summer 2022 Permit Information

*2023 information coming soon.*

Resident permits for beach parking, shellfish licenses and recycling center are available for purchase starting April 11, 2022.  All permits are available through the mail-in (cash or check payments) program or online (credit card payment) at Brewster 2022 Permit Sales. You will be directed to a third-party vendor for processing, there is a convenience charge associated with online permit purchases.

Resident Beach Parking Permits

*Non-Resident Beach Parking Permits

Shellfish Licenses

*One per household

Recycling Center Permits

$25 for 1st vehicle

$20 per day

Residents - $25/year

$50 for the 1st permit

$25 for 2nd vehicle

$150 for the season

Non-Residents- $125/year

$15 each add ‘l permit

$40 for each add ’l vehicle

*online purchase only



Beach Permit Information

Beach parking permits are required from June 15 – September 4, 2022. Residents must provide vehicle registration and proof of residence, full details can be found here: Resident Beach Parking Permit Requirements (

Tribal beach parking permits are available for purchase online. Applicants must provide a copy of their Wampanoag Tribal ID card.

Non-resident beach parking permits are available for purchase online only starting June 1, 2022, permits are paperless as enforcement will be conducted using license plate reader technology. Visitors looking to enjoy our beaches do not need to print hard copies of their Day or Seasonal non-resident permit.  Permits can be purchased the day of, or in advance of your visit.  All non-resident permits are non-refundable.

A permit does not guarantee a parking place at any of the beaches or ponds. We have limited parking at the Town beaches and ponds.  You mush have a permit when parked at the beaches or ponds, but actual parking is on a first come basis.  There is a $40.00 fine for parking violations, including parking without a valid permit. Signs are posted at the beach and pond parking lots indicating that a valid parking permit is required.

Beach parking permit enforcement is in effect June 15, 2022, through September 4, 2022 from 9am to 4pm daily.  Vehicles parked without a permit will be fined $40.00, this is strictly enforced by the Brewster Police Department.

Any changes to permit sale polices or procedures will be posted on the Town’s homepage. Please email or call (508) 896-3701 ext. 1651 if you have any questions.  The Town may further modify the Beach Parking Permit program this season as necessary.

Beaches and Ponds close at 10pm.  Cookouts are allowed only on private beaches and only with permits issued by the Brewster Fire Department.  No fires are allowed on town or state public beaches.  Dogs and other pets are not allowed on public beaches, tidal flats, landings, and public ponds between the dates of May 15th and September 15th per Board of Health regulations.  Smoking is prohibited on all Town owned beaches and ponds.

Shellfish Permit Information

Annual resident shellfish permits are valid from January 1st through December 31st, 2022.  One permit is allowed per household.  Permits can be ordered via the mail-in program or online.

Residents and MA Veterans 70 years or older can purchase a lifetime shellfish license at the Council on Aging at 1673 Main Street (508) 896-2737 for $5.00

Annual non-resident recreational shellfish permits, and Massachusetts Veteran shellfish permits are available online only.  Commonwealth of Massachusetts veterans are entitled to resident permit rates upon providing a MA driver’s license and proof of having served in the military.

Shellfish regulations may be found here.

Shellfish permit enforcement is conducted by the Shellfish Constable, Assistant Constables and Wardens.

Recycling Center Permits

Recycling Center permits are valid from July 1st through June 30th.  The Recycling center now has state of the art license plate recognition software that will be used to verify permit holders in place of physical Recycling center stickers.  All Recycling Center permits purchased will be electronic.  Once an order is processed, you will receive a confirmation email that your license plate has been entered into our database and is valid for use.  New 2022 Brewster Recycling Center permits are valid starting July 1, 2022. A copy of a valid car registration is required for each vehicle, additional documents may be required if the name does not match property ownership or the address on the registration is not a Brewster address.  Please see full details here.

Bay Beaches

Public beaches on Cape Bod Bay, starting from the east end of Town include:

Crosby Landing- Linnell Landing, Ellis Landing- Point of Rocks Landing- Spruce Hill- Breakwater Beach- Breakwater Landing- Saint’s Landing- Mant’s Landing (Robbins Hill Beach)- Paines Creek Beach

There are no-lifeguards at Bay beaches.  Portable toilets are provided at all locations except for Spruce Hill and Breakwater Landing from Memorial Day through Columbus Day weekend.

Freshwater Ponds

Long Pond Beach is accessible from Crowell’s Bog Road off Route 124.  A lifeguard is on duty from July 4th weekend to Labor Day weekend, seven days a week from 9am – 4pm.  Portable toilets are available.  Sheep Pond is accessible from Fisherman’s Landing, Upper Mill Pond is accessible from Run Hill Road, both ponds do not have lifeguards, but portable toilets are available. 

Brewster Beach Map